Moose and Sadie’s

Though I already had an affinity for Moose &Sadie’s based on their lovely website, their minimalist menu didn’t have me entirely convinced. But, after my visit, I was a convert to the beauty and simplicity that is this venue.

The Overall Experience

Simply put, we had quite a lovely time at Moose & Sadie’s. We were served well, enjoyed our food and coffee, and felt comfortable and welcome in the space. Highlight of the morning? The employee who cleared our table was a sweet old woman who walked as quietly as anything you’d describe as silent, sported a patterned red bandanna, and wore a permanent smile.

The Venue and Service

A small venue with cozy close seating, beautiful floor to ceiling windows, and gorgeous light wooden paneling, Moose & Sadie’s is a sweet little haven. It’s the kind of place that has regulars, and for good reason. Though there’s not a ton of seating, the seating they do have is varied, with tables, booths, and a modern bar area. Bonus: They also have a great patio. And not only is their venue ideal, but they also have fantastic service. It’s cafeteria style, which usually isn’t my favorite, but these people have it down pat. Even though the line was long, I flew through it because one man was writing my order down while another customer was being rung up and then he simply handed my order over to the cashier, who could ring me up, no questions asked, and then pass that order directly on to the kitchen staff for actual cooking purposes. Nailing it, peeps, nailing it.

Moose and Sadies Heuvos

The Food and Coffee

Prepare yourself for a really small menu here. Though they do have a rotating weekly menu of specials, your overall options are pretty limited. However, whatever you do order is bound to be delicious. I selected the Huevos Rancheros ($9.25) and my breakfast partner ordered the Quiche of the Day ($6.95) and a side of house potatoes ($2.95). I found my meal to be fantastically satisfying. Two corn tortillas were topped with refried beans, scrambled eggs, roasted tomato salsa, and avocado. Though I found the dish a bit spicy (I find everything a bit spicy), it was packed with flavor and entirely well-balanced. The salsa didn’t make the tortillas soggy and the avocado added a fresh and clean zest to each bite. My breakfast partner was pleasantly surprised with her meal. The quiche was flaky and hearty and would have been substantial enough on its own. But the side of potatoes were a nice addition: Very simple, with a nice crispy-to-soft ratio and perfectly seasoned (after adding some salt).

Moose and Sadies quiche

But an important coffee note: Refills aren’t free. When ordering, you get the choice of a small or large cup (get the large, obvs), but they fill it up behind the counter for you. If you want more, you have to be pretty forward (or desperate). It’s your responsibility to take the initiative to get up from your meal, wait in line at the counter again, and pay a dollar for a refill. Lucky for me, I’m forward and desperate. Plus I discovered a single dollar bill in my wallet so I didn’t have to refill using a credit card! Winning.

I was well pleased with Moose & Sadie’s. I had a great meal in an adorably trendy dining area with sun streaming down my face. I’d go back again for any meal of the day, this time being sure to take advantage of their lovely outdoor seating.

The Ratings:
Coffee Quality: 
9
Food Quality: 8
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 9
Menu Variety: 8
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: street parking
Average Score: 8.8

moose-sadie-s

Have you been to Moose & Sadie’s?
Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Moose & Sadie’s for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Moose & Sadie’s
212 3rd Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55401

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

