Pizza Luce St. Paul

It’s the day after Halloween. And, unlike most women my age, I’m not waking up still dressed as a sexy nurse tending to a sugar hangover as well as a regular one. In fact, I’m doing the opposite of most people: getting up at the crack of dawn for a work out and heading out to breakfast at the stroke of the venue’s opening time. I’m super awesome and cool, I know. So, well-rested and ready for a tasty meal, we ventured to breakfast. Now, I’ll admit, I too was skeptical of heading to Pizza Luce, an obvious pizza joint, for my first meal of the day. However, after checking out their brunch menu online and already loving their food for every other meal of the day, I thought I’d take the plunge.

When we arrived at the St. Paul location, we tip toed into the silent and empty venue, wondering if we’d gotten the opening time wrong. But, instead of turning on our embarrassed heels for trying to enter a closed restaurant, we were greeted by a young hostess who gave us an exhausted smile and welcomed us to sit wherever we wanted. We cozied up in a large, plush booth and quickly started in on the large cups of rich, dark coffees we were quickly served and investigated our ordering options.

The brunch menu is surprisingly fantastic. It’s rather large and offers a hefty variety, particularly in the gluten-free and vegan options. I mean, if you offer a side GF English muffin at just a 49 cent upgrade, you’re about to win over a large percentage of the sans gluten population. Though I had trouble deciding (and already have plans to go back to try what I didn’t order), I settled on the Huevos Luceros ($8.99). My breakfast companion decided to order what you order at a pizza place: pizza. The Ultimate Breggfast Pizza ($10.99) did the trick.

Our food came quickly, pleasing our hungry bellies and impatient minds. I’ll just tell it to you straight: my breakfast was fabulous. Two corn tostadas were loaded with black beans, salsa, Spanish quinoa, scrambled eggs, fresh cilantro, and avocado. I added tofu for a protein kick and the whole meal was served on a bed of fresh spinach. I loved the fun twist on huevos rancheros, something I can’t typically order because of the flour tortilla and classic queso. My eggs were fluffy and flavorful, blending seamlessly with the zesty Spanish quinoa and fresh salsa. Avocado added a substantial healthy fat and crumbled spiced tofu provided bold flavor and important protein. Overall: loved it and would get it again – if there weren’t so many other things I want to try.

Pizza Luce luceros

My breakfast companion enjoyed her breakfast just as much as I enjoyed mine. Her personal sized pizza came topped with savory hash browns, bacon, breakfast sausage, bell peppers, red onion, cheddar and pepper jack cheese, and scrambled eggs. It was quite literally a pizza crust packed with every breakfast food you would think of when I queue the phrase ‘breakfast food.’ The thing that really made this breakfast great was the classic Pizza Luce crust. It was fluffy and crisped, not overly doughy or tough. She also just loved the variety of different things on the pizza – it was like getting a whole traditional breakfast plate in every single bite. The sausage was a little too traditionally spice for my friend’s taste, so that added spice made her appreciate that the staff let her opt for just olive oil instead of the spicy jalapeño ketchup that comes as the pizza ‘sauce’ in the meal description. To top it all off, the pizza somehow wasn’t and never did get soggy, which is surprising considering it’s packed with hashbrowns and eggs. My friend’s final conclusion: ‘Yum.’

Pizza Luce pizza

Pizza Luce is a clear winner. With vast gluten-free and vegan options, helpful and accommodating staff, and a chill, comfortable atmosphere, this venue is teaching the Twin Cities that pizzerias can satisfy your pizza fix tonight and indulge your need for a killer breakfast the next morning.

The Ratings:
Coffee Quality: 9
Food Quality: 9
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 8
Menu Variety: 10
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: street parking
Average Score: 9.2

pizza luce

Have you been to Pizza Luce?
Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Pizza Luce for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Pizza Luce
1183 Selby Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55104

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

