Coffee Cup

As I continue to train for the Monster Dash Half-Marathon, I’ll continue to go to breakfast absolutely famished. And this morning was no different. After a healthy 9 mile run, I met up with my breakfast companion to head to Coffee Cup. This venue is a small, hometown place that just so happens to be down the street from my house. Needless to say, the morning began well, with a three minute commute. Little did we know, this would be the highlight of this week’s breakfast experience.

We popped into the noisy and packed restaurant and were immediately instructed to ‘find a place to sit.’ We skimmed the crowds of boisterous diners, most of whom were eating all too quickly while sporting sweatpants and Vikings t-shirts. In dark skinny jeans, riding boots, and a fitted fall jacket, I immediately noticed how wildly overdressed I was. And there we awkwardly stood, looking entirely out of place and without a place to sit. As we stood, sweating anxious beads of sweat and begging silently for a table opening, a grumpy waitress decked out in neon PINK apparel and wearing a permanent frown, shouted (yes, shouted) at us to take a seat at a table that ‘would be cleared off soon.’

Sliding into the old-fashioned diner booth, I resisted the urge to thoroughly wipe down the entire seating area with the disinfectant wipes that I (always) keep in my purse. The frowny waitress reappeared to clear the former occupant’s dirty dishes and move around the table’s breakfast grime with a dishcloth already full of breakfast grime. She also dropped off a couple of coffees, which ended up being the equivalent of really hot cups of black, flavorless water. We probably should have left right then.

We settled into our seats and looked at the breakfast menu, which is a pretty classic one. It has a fairly wide variety of breakfast options, all of which are really traditional breakfast meals. There was only one option for me, so I picked the Vegetable Omelette ($9.25). My breakfast companion selected the Classic Ranch Breakfast ($9.25). We shared our selections with our waitress, who grumpily pointed out that they don’t do substitutions for anything, so I was forced to get a side of toast. She frowned at me and I frowned back. After reporting our orders, two minutes and thirty seconds later our meals arrived. At first we were impressed with this turnaround time. Then we actually ate our food and opinions changed.

Coffee Cup Omelette

I’ll be honest: my breakfast was unfortunate. The portion was gigantic. Even too much for a starving runner. The omelette was stuffed with tomatoes, mushrooms, green peppers, and onions, most of which I’m pretty sure came from a can. The vegetables weren’t really cooked, but rather simply heated up. The omelette itself was thick and heavy – just a huge hunk of egg that I could hardly tolerate eating. The hashbrowns were simply traditional potato shavings that lacked any flavor whatsoever and probably could have cooked thirty seconds longer. Near the end of forcing down as much of the meal as I could stand, I spied a long, dark hair peeking out of my hashbrowns Insert throwing up a little bit in my mouth here.That was the last straw, Coffee Cup! I’ll just tell you that I did not finish my breakfast this morning. And that’s saying something.

Coffee Cup Ranch

When I asked my friend about her breakfast experience, her first response was, and I quote, ‘I did not like it.’ And that pretty much sums it up. Her breakfast, consisting of two eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, and toast, simply wasn’t good. The eggs were severely undercooked. While over easy eggs are supposed to have a runny yolk, they’re not supposed to also have a runny egg white. They literally were not cooked so she (literally) did not eat them. She did note that the large portion of bacon was great, but the bacon itself, overly browned yet not crispy, was pretty unspectacular. And though her hashbrowns had a nice, crispy top layer, they weren’t very flavorful. Finally, her toast, resembling generic sliced grocery bread, was burnt to a crisp and came with no accompaniments. Overall, my friend felt like she could have defrosted a packaged meal from her freezer and made the breakfast she had at Coffee Cup.

Coffee Cup was a greasy, hometown restaurant with watered down coffee and giant portions of unfortunate food. Oh, and grumpy waitresses. Such grumpy waitresses. I suppose I can understand the audience they’re catering for, but I’m simply not a part of it. So, friends, I’d never go back. And I wouldn’t suggest you go either.

The Ratings:
Coffee Quality: 6
Food Quality: 5
Quality of Service: 5
Cost: 7
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 4
Parking: street parking
Average Score: 6.0

Coffee Cup

Have you been to Coffee Cup?
Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Coffee Cup for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Coffee Cup
1446 Rice Street
St. Paul, MN 55117

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

