The Finnish Bistro

This morning, like most other Saturday mornings, we headed to breakfast. On this particular morning, I’d already run about 8.5 miles, so I was, in a word, ravenous. So, today, a large, delicious, and satisfying portion was more than necessary. Luckily, The Finnish Bistro delivered.

We trolled down Como Avenue in St. Paul, passing beautiful homes, gorgeous trees painted with the colors of fall, and another GMBT venue, Colossal Cafe. As we parked across the street and peered over at the venue, we realized that the little bistro is connected to a Dunn Brothers. Curious, we thought, and proceeded to enter the venue for further investigation.

Stepping hesitantly into the bistro, we were immediately bombarded with a giant bakery case packed with donuts, muffins, cakes, breads, cookies, and every other delightful sugar-full dessert you could think of. While waiting in a short line to order, I thought about all of the ways I could ‘eat’ one of each of these items without actually eating them and I thought of…nothing. But it did take up my mental focus long enough for us to get to the front of the line, ready to order. The breakfast menu is fairly good sized. There is a solid variety, including four unique omelettes, nearly all of which held my interest. I ended up selected the Vegetable ‘Munakas’ ($8.95) while my breakfast companion chose the ‘Famous’ Pulla French Toast ($8.95).

After we ordered our meals, we had to cross the restaurant in order to order our coffee separately at Dunn Brothers. It was an extra step that at first seemed tedious and dumb, but I did get a soy latte out of it, so I wasn’t complaining. The inside of the bistro, which was quite small, packed with tables, and housed walls lined with mirrors, was also stuffed with other diners, so we decided to take our meal outside. And what a fantastic decision that was. It was gloriously sunny and perfectly temperatured. This was one of the last warm weekends of fall and we took full advantage of it.

Finnish Bistro Omelette

Soon (but not quite soon enough, remember, I was ravenous), our food arrived. My breakfast ended up being quite tasty. I won’t say it was the best omelette I’ve ever had, but it was good. The omelette, packed with onions, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, spinach, and tomato, was what I’d call ‘well done.’ It was flat and thoroughly cooked, browned so much so that some may consider it overcooked. I, however, liked the stable consistency, which eliminated the overpowering ‘egg’ taste that I still sometimes struggle with. I also loved the tiny accompanying pico salsa. Throw a Mexican twist on any egg breakfast and I call you a genius. Finnish Bistro = genius. My meal also included two hefty slices of gluten-free toast, which wasn’t dry and dense like most GF toast I’ve encountered. It was fresh from their bakery and entirely satisfying.

Finnish Bistro Fresh Toast

My breakfast companion’s french toast was made of cardamom raisin bread baked with sliced almonds and topped with caramelized warm berries and whipped cream. The portion was absolutely monstrous and loaded with fruit. Like, so much fruit. So, so much fruit. The fruit excess made the dish a) delicious but also b) incredibly sweet. She didn’t even need to add any maple syrup on top. The bread itself was soft and spongy, but still firm enough to hold its own against the overwhelming, oozing moisture of the fruit. Though she considered the entire deal more of a dessert and less of a breakfast, it was sweetly satisfying and offered enough for breakfast again tomorrow.

The Finnish Bistro was a treat. I wouldn’t say it was a perfect experience, but we enjoyed good food, great Dunn Bros coffee, and fantastic outdoor seating. Though we didn’t actually order and eat any of the bakery items, I’d recommend this spot for a coffee and pastry run. If you actually consume anything from that giant glass case packed with endless mouth watering options, let me know so I express my jealousy.

The Ratings:
Coffee Quality: 10
Food Quality: 9
Quality of Service: 9
Cost: 8
Menu Variety: 8
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: street parking
Average Score: 8.8

Finnish Bistro

Have you been to The Finnish Bistro?
Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience The Finnish Bistro for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
The Finnish Bistro
2264 Como Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

