St. Clair Broiler

Now that I’ve been in the real working world for a full two weeks, I’m coming to fully realize the value of weekends. And nothing screams ‘SATURDAY!’ like a stop on The Great Minnesota Breakfast Tour. I’ve always looked forward to breakfast, but now that breakfasts fall on one of the days on which I have freedom and complete control over my time, I think I appreciate them even more.

This morning on the beloved tour, we ventured to St. Clair Broiler. I’ll admit that this was a rather random choice, one that’s simply been floating silently on our to-go list. We sauntered into the steamingly humid diner-like venue and waited a few minutes to be seated in a plush mini booth. Our waitress brought me an entire pot of decaf coffee for just me (as I type the word ‘decaf,’ tears pour onto my keyboard – I’m currently not allowed to have caffeine because of medical reasons and it’s equivalent to death). Even though it was decaf, because I’d restricted any and all coffee for a week, I gulped that pot of coffee like a Lost character who just found a mid-jungle waterfall.

The menu was large and diverse, exactly what you’d expect from a more traditional venue such as this one. It was actually difficult to narrow down options because there were many choices, a rarity for me. I finally landed on the Mexican Omelet ($9.25) and my friend selected the French Connection ($9.25). We put in our orders and got our food approximately three minutes later. I couldn’t have even put the food on the plate that fast.

St. Clair omeleteNow that my fear of eggs has finally subsided, I’ve come to realize that egg breakfasts with a Mexican twist are basically my favorite things in the world. Give me a taco disguised as breakfast and you can win over my taste buds. And probably my heart. And that’s exactly what this Mexican Omelet did. The thick omelet was packed with zucchini, green pepper, re-fried beans, and onions and topped with salsa verde. It was straight up an omelet taco and I had no complaints. It wasn’t fancy or uniquely beautiful, but it was tasty and gave me a healthy dose of Mexican at 9 a.m. The side of hash browns were a careful mix of crispy and soft potato shavings that needed a bit of salt for flavor, but were a perfect consistency.

St. Clair french toast

My breakfast companion’s meal was also delicious, but rather ordinary. It consisted of two slices of French toast, two eggs, and bacon. The eggs were eggs, plain and simple. The bacon was crisp and flavorful, but it was just bacon. The French toast was good, especially since they opted for Texas toast bread rather than classic loafed. Overall, it satisfied her need for a filling breakfast but paled in comparison to the great meals we’ve been having on the tour lately.

St. Clair Broiler was good. It was traditional. It was classic. If you’re one who heads to breakfast merely occasionally and crave the normal breakfast options, this is a fine venue choice. However, this deep into the tour, a traditional breakfast diner with pretty good food and decent service no longer holds our attention for long.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 7
Food Quality: 8
Quality of Service: 9
Cost: 8
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 8
Parking: street and lot parking
Average Score: 8.2

st. clair outside

Have you been to St. Clair Broiler? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience St. Clair Broiler for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
St. Clair Broiler
1580 St. Clair Ave
St. Paul, MN 55105

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

