The Mill Northeast

The Mill Northeast. This guy has been on our list for a long while. Though it just opened last November, it’s one that I’ve been itching to visit for the majority of the breakfast tour. And, friends, I was not disappointed. In fact, I was pleasantly overwhelmed.

The building, whose blue and white striped exterior had me won over before I even entered, stands on Central Avenue in Northeast. Its modern glow makes it look like the too-cool older brother of its older, relatively run-down counterparts. On this mild summer morning, we were invited to enjoy breakfast on the ‘patio,’ which was really a mini section of the paved parking lot blocked off by some fencing. Yet it still managed to give off a quirky charm that I was definitely digging.

We plopped down into a couple of shiny metal chairs and were immediately introduced to the chillest hippie waitress I’ve ever come into contact with. Her drawl was slow and flowing, her words patient and genuine. After getting over the initial shock of this stranger’s authenticity, I was immediately at ease. I felt a strange sense that I was being genuinely taken care of, a nearly impossible feat for someone who was only in contact with me for a few minutes. But this lady nailed it.

The menu is an awesome one: full of unique and diverse options that combine the breakfast classics and some deliciously different spins on tradition. When I excitedly ordered the Ecuadorian Baked Eggs ($9) and my friend chose the Jack Burger ($12), the service and personality of our waitress continued to shine. She slowly and patiently listened to my detailed and complicated meal subtractions and alterations, carefully writing everything down while asking intelligent questions that were free of condescension. I wanted to give her a bear hug.

Mill NE Ecuadorian

After an incredible experience with our waitress, my assumption was that my meal would blow my mind. Because someone that wonderful has to work at a kick-ass restaurant, right? Right. My meal was amazing. I mean, absolutely amazing. Just ask my friend, for throughout the entire meal I annoyingly raved about each bite. The main dish of spiced black beans, house salsa, cilantro, and scrambled eggs came with a side of the best roasted potatoes I’ve ever had the privilege of eating. The wedges, crisp on the outside but tender on the inside, were full of zesty rosemary flavor and mouth-wateringly perfect potatoness. The spiced black beans were bold and creamy, offering an incredible complement to the beautifully light and fluffy scrambled eggs. The cilantro and house salsa offered a kiss of extra flavor that tied the entire meal together in a perfect, golden bow. It was, dare I say, the best post-oatmeal breakfast tour breakfast so far.

Mill NE burgerLet’s be real: my friend’s breakfast was a straight up burger and fries. And if you know this friend, you know this is exactly how she’d like her breakfast (or any meal, for that matter). The breakfast burger was topped with candied bacon, fried egg, white cheddar, lettuce, tomato, onion, and terragon a ioli.  The addition of the egg and the candied bacon really transformed the burger into a hearty breakfast, tricking her senses that were telling her she was indulging in an evening staple. She also loved her version of the Mill’s potatoes, as the fries were perfectly crisp, flavorful, and tasted like real potato slices but weren’t overly potatoey, if you get her drift. Overall, you could tell that each and every ingredient was of a high quality, creating a gloriously fresh and incredible meal.

The Mill Northeast was a delectable experience. Though it was a little bit pricey, our food was absolutely to die for, the service was incredibly chill and overly accommodating, and the overall experience was one worth paying (a little extra) for.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 8
Food Quality: 10
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 7
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 10
Parking: street and lot parking
Average Score: 9.0

the mill NE outside

Have you been to The Mill Northeast? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience The Mill Northeast for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
The Mill Northeast
1851 Central Ave NE
Minneapolis, MN 55418

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

