Ward 6

It’s the day after July Fourth. And I’m tired. Though I’m not the wild partier that many twenty-somethings are (in fact, my habits are more frequently described closer to those of a senior citizen), I didn’t go to sleep until far past my (strict) bedtime last night. But, nevertheless, a slightly groggy me hopped in the car and headed to the highly acclaimed Ward 6.

I was excited about this venue as I had just read a positive review of the place on the City Pages Top 10 blog. We popped into the small restaurant and were greeted by a bubbly, vivacious waitress who skipped over to an open table and quickly turned on her heels to grab us some coffees. We’d already received some of the best service on the tour. That woman was downright excited to serve us. And I was downright excited about her excitement.

The menu (technically brunch because it was a Saturday) offered a great variety, though it only included a small list of items. There were options for everyone, most with unique twists on classic dishes. I chose to order The Disaster ($9), while my breakfast companion ordered a meal she’s been waiting to enjoy for months: Breakfast Poutine ($9). While we waited for our meals, my friend sipped a divine caramel latte while I gulped cups of black coffee and we admired the unique wooden bar area and slanted, architecturally challenging ceiling. The place had a homey, neighborhood feel, bursting with character and trendy comfort.

The wait was minimal, but, for the quality of our breakfasts, we would have been willing to wait a lot longer. My meal, a scramble of sausage (What, you ate sausage?! Yeah, gold star for me.), onions, hash browns, scrambled eggs, and peppers. This baby was hearty. The hash browns were crispy and full of flavor and the spicy sausage added an extra kick. I honestly can’t put into words why this scramble surpassed the many others I’ve tried, but there was a unique essence about this one that left me more satisfied than ever, while still making me beg for more.

Ward 6 disaster

My friend’s breakfast poutine was worth the wait. She raved about it. The poutine, a traditional Canadian dish, consists of fries, curds, and sausage gravy, all topped with a fried egg. It’s a little terrifying to hear that this is in fact a breakfast dish, but it’s pure heaven for many. My friend explained that the portion was small but filling enough to be satisfied by the end. The fries were crispy and didn’t get soggy even though they were covered in gravy. The gravy had a little spice that was set off nicely by the over easy egg. Overall, it was hearty and included a nice layering of flavors. If you like all of the above ingredients, get the poutine. It’ll blow your breakfast mind.

ward 6 poutine

Ward 6 was a glorious find. The food? Fantastic. The service? Impeccable. The overall experience? One worth going back for again and again.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 9
Food Quality: 9
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 8
Menu Variety: 8
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: street and lot parking
Average Score: 8.8

ward 6 outside

Have you been to Ward 6? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Ward 6 for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Ward 6
858 Payne Ave.
Saint Paul, MN

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

