The Egg and I

After a long week of packing up my life and moving into a new apartment, I was ready for a hearty Saturday morning breakfast. My friend and I were excited to head to The Egg and I on Lyndale Avenue for a traditional breakfast.

Bright and early, we entered the diner-esque restaurant, joining the early morning crowd, mostly consisting of elderly men in baseball caps and faded jeans sitting at the bar drinking bottomless cups of coffee. Waitresses in jeans and t-shirts crowded around the coffee pots, chatting away to pass the time. One of these casual ladies encouraged us to sit wherever we liked, so we selected a small stainless steel table by the window.

As we sipped our delicious cups of promptly served coffee, we explored the egg-cellent menu. It was packed with an endless variety of omelets and egg dishes, so many that it was difficult to narrow it down. I ended up opting for the Egg White Veggie Omelet ($7.95). Our waitress was fantastically patient as I asked endless questions and made countless variations to my order, even stopping to kindly ask if I had any more requests (and shockingly, without a hint of sarcasm in her voice). My friend selected that day’s special: a Turkey Wild Rice Omelet ($9.50).

egg and i veggie

After we ordered, I drank another few cups of coffee in the approximately four minutes until we received our breakfasts. As you can see from the above photo, my omelet was huge! And also fantastic. Not only was it stuffed with endless vegetables like broccoli, tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, spinach, and more, it was also packed with turkey, a breakfast meat that I can tolerate. The vegetables were cooked to perfection – not mushy, but also not not packing an undercooked crunch. The eggs were light and fresh, making the entire omelet too tasty not to finish entirely.

egg and i wild rice

My breakfast companion’s omelet was also uniquely delicious. It was packed with wild rice, turkey, onions, mushrooms, and provolone cheese, all topped with hollandaise sauce. The unique omelet, made with traditional dinner ingredients, was just great. The eggs were light and complemented the unique fixings well. The hollandaise sauce was also deeply creamy, topping off the meal perfectly.

Overall, The Egg and I offers top notch service, tasty coffee and meals, and a fun, traditional diner feel. This weekend I suggest you head to the Egg and I for a little egg and you time.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 8
Food Quality: 10
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 8
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: lot available 
Average Score: 9.0

egg and i outside

Have you been to The Egg and I? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience The Egg and I for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
The Egg and I
2828 Lyndale Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55408

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

