The Normandy Kitchen

On this relatively balmy Minnesota Saturday, my friend and I headed downtown to The Normandy Kitchen. This lil restaurant just so happened to be inside a hotel, a detail I was blissfully unaware of when selecting it. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against hotels. In fact, I’ll welcome strangers to make my bed and fold my toilet paper into a perfect point any day. But as far as breakfast venues are concerned, I typically shoot for more excitingly unique spots. But alas, their menu had a solid GF, DF option for me and they were just a hop, skip, and a jump away so we went.

We entered a nearly empty dining area. The place was quiet, practically serene. Our fellow diners seemed to be all hotel guests (shocker!), casually sauntering down from their rooms upstairs and peacefully reading newspapers or perusing their smartphones. We tried really hard to be just as casual and hotel guest-looking while we checked out the menu, which was rather limited, but offered the traditional basics. It was also quite pricey for these basics, unfortunately. I selected the Chef’s Omelet ($11.25), requesting that it be an egg-white omelet and filling it with onions, mushrooms, peppers, tomatoes, and avocado. My friend chose the traditional Eggs Benedict ($11.50).

normandy kitchen

Our waitress (who joyfully refilled my coffee every 45 seconds) put our orders in right away and brought out our food basically immediately – a nice perk of being 2 of 5 people in the dining area. My egg white omelet looked delish. It was literally exploding with veggies and came with a side of veggies. Just the way I like it. Now, friends, I will admit: this was my first-ever omelet. So, based on this vast and diverse omelet exposure, I’d have to say that it was quite fantastic! But my breakfast companion, one well-versed in all things egg, tried a bite and informed me that it was average-tasting. Boy did she burst my omelet bubble. So apparently I was only ‘averagely’ satisfied.

nromandy benedict

My breakfast companion’s breakfast was equally as average. Her poached eggs came on an olive oil grilled English muffin, topped with Canadian bacon and hollandaise, and served with a side of hash browns (and I gave her my gluten-full toast). She noted that her hash browns were rather bland and the hollandaise minimal. Other than that, the comments were few. I believe her exact words after finishing her meal were, “That was fine, but nothing special.” That just about sums it up.

Though the wait time was nothing and the service was great, The Normandy Kitchen’s food was overpriced and under delicious. We were satisfied, but again concluded it was nothing special.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 7
Food Quality: 7
Quality of Service: 9
Cost: 7
Menu Variety: 7
Overall Satisfaction: 7
Parking: street parking
Average Score: 7.3

normandy-kitchen

Have you been to The Normandy Kitchen? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience The Normandy Kitchen for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
The Normandy Kitchen
405 South 8th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55404

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

