Hot Plate

This morning I headed off to Minneapolis, in search of Hot Plate. I’d heard what a fantastic little place this was and I was excited to venture into the residential area off of Bloomington Ave to experience it for myself.

We parked conveniently right outside the front door and headed inside. Though a small sign directed us to “wait to be seated,” wait we did not, and a friendly man behind the counter seated us immediately. We sat down at a small table in the middle of the diner, which was essentially one large room, separated by a bar area in the middle. A friendly, plaid-doused waitress quickly brought me a (small) cup of delicious coffee – so tasty I drank it nearly black.

Hot Plate oatmealAfter getting settled nicely into our small table, we checked out the menu. The breakfast menu is a little smaller than others I’ve encountered, but offers a good variety of different options. I settled on the oatmeal with flaxseed and wheat germ ($5.25). My friend, who really struggled with her decision, chose to piece together her own breakfast, ordering one peanut butter pancake ($3.50), a side of applewood smoked bacon ($3.75), and two eggs ($2.50). After placing our orders, we sat back, taking in the overwhelming walls, packed with paintings. Every square inch was covered, from paintings of Jesus to countryside landscapes. Though my friend is an art major and I’m a person who enjoys art, the number of paintings hurt a little bit. I think that’s sort of the point, but, still, they could have toned it down a bit. 

My oatmeal, served with brown sugar and raisins, was absolutely divine. It was thin, yet creamy, and offered a natural almost cocoa-like taste. The consistency of the oats reminded me of Malt-O-Meal wheats, and brought me back to my childhood a little bit. I loved each and every bite, as the bowl tasted hearty and healthy, just the way I like it. If you like oatmeal, this venue’s dish is definitely one that needs to be added to your must visit list.

hot plate pancakes

My friend’s breakfast was also totally satisfying. Her peanut butter pancake wasn’t overly fluffy and cakey, and the peanut butter flavor tasted real and natural (my friend even compared the peanut butter taste to that of Hell’s Kitchen – high praise). The peanut butter was mixed right into the batter, making the entire cake burst with flavor. The bacon, crispy and flavorful, wasn’t too salty, an important quality. Her eggs were also delicious, perfectly scrambled and needing little salt or pepper to satisfy.

We were both extremely happy with our meals (I even went as far as to say it was one of my favorite bowls of oatmeal of the tour), and we ventured back out into the cold completely satisfied. I enjoyed Hot Plate so much I nearly purchased a “A day without bacon is like a day without sunshine” t-shirt. But, then again, I love Hot Plate, not bacon, so I settled for leaving empty handed, but with a satisfied smile.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 9
Food Quality: 9
Quality of Service: 8
Cost: 10
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: street parking
Average Score: 9.0

hot plate outside

Have you been to Hot Plate Diner? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Hot Plate for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Hot Plate
5204 Bloomington Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Leave a Reply

