Shish

This morning I was feeling exotic. To attend to that feeling, I decided to head to Shish, a Mediterranean Grill and Cafe. I’d heard good things about this lil place on Grand Ave, so I was excited to investigate the unique cuisine.

We tooled over on this sunny Sunday and entered into the small venue, joining just a few other diners. The place was relatively small, but had tons of tables and booths available. We perused the menu, written fancily on chalk to the left of the ordering counter. To the right of the counter, a large bakery case of GIANT, luscious cakes tempted us (and my friend gave in, ordering a giant slab of homemade carrot cake to go – she said it’s absolutely delicious and she’ll be eating it for the next five days because it’s huge). Their menu is variety-filled, complete with unique mediterranean options, but also offering more traditional options.

I selected the oatmeal (3.95), made with my choice of milk, water or soy milk. I also nabbed a cup of slow drip coffee. My friend ordered the Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict ($8.95) and a small latte. We plopped down in a small booth near the door (a chilly choice), explored the lunch menu, and waited just a few moments for our food.

IMG_6677

Our meals arrived promptly and I skeptically eyed my bowl of oatmeal. That was it: a bowl of oatmeal on a plate. No add-ins. No accompaniments. Nothing. I was a little nervous. But once I dove into my bowl, I realized that there were some secrets hidden beneath the seemingly plain oats. The oats themselves were infused with honey and cinnamon, there were careful swirls of brown sugar and butter, and a satisfying portion of raisins was folded in throughout the bowl. Delicious. The oatmeal was soupy, not a characteristic that I typically enjoy, but for this bowl, the extra moisture from the skim milk added a great consistency to the oats. Overall, it was a unique bowl, spiced and sweetened to perfection.

Emily shish breakfast

My friend’s breakfast was completely fantastic. Her eggs benedict was served over a greek pita (replacing the traditional english muffin) and came with rosemary potatoes and fruit. The crab cakes were really tasty – breaded on the outside and not dense, but creamy on the inside. Yum. The rosemary potatoes were also seasoned perfectly – not overwhelmingly rosemaryish so you could still taste the natural potato. It was delicious, people.

The casual vibe, friendly staff, delicious food, and unbeatable prices really made this place a winner. After such a great breakfast experience, I look forward to the opportunity to try out some of their unique lunch/dinner choices!

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 8
Food Quality: 10
Quality of Service: 9
Cost: 10
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: Street parking
Average Score: 9.2

IMG_6675

Have you been to Shish? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Shish for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Shish
1668 Grand Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55105

Leave a Reply

