Day By Day Cafe

inside day by dayOn this bright and sunny Saturday, we headed out to Day By Day Cafe. We parked on the nearly deserted street and trotted into the lil venue. There were few other diners inside, so we were seated quickly, sitting down in a small wooden booth. Across from our table, we took a gander at the whimsical character paintings covering the walls. We checked out semi-professional canvas paintings of Dora the Explorer, the characters of Up, and Finding Nemo characters. Right above us, we also eyed action figures and small plastic toys, which were carefully displayed on boxed shelves. This restaurant was already bringing me back to my childhood, making me feel like ordering a chocolate milk and silver dollar pancakes. Instead, I started with a coffee.

I then moved onto making my breakfast food decision. Their menu wasn’t incredibly variety-filled. They offered options of all the basics, but not many variations or extensive options on those classics. However, I was excited about their unique oatmeal, called the Pigs Eye Porridge. The dish consisted of steel cut oats and wild rice, topped with hazelnuts, brown sugar and raisins ($5.59). I also opted to add real maple syrup and craisins ($7.99). My friend ordered the #3, which included two eggs, hashbrowns, toast and juice ($6.69).

day by day oatmeal

I sipped my not-so-good coffee and spent many minutes waiting for my food, distracted by conversation with my friend, but still noticing the delay on our breakfasts. Finally, our meals arrived. My porridge, looking fantastic, tasted even better than it looked. The combination of steel oats and wild rice was divine, giving the bowl a rustically sweet natural flavor. As I mixed in hazelnuts and maple syrup, my taste buds indulged in a unique experience – these toppings aren’t things you usually put in oatmeal. The hazelnuts alone infused the dish with a nearly Nutella-like taste, balancing the sweetness of maple syrup with a tasty saltiness. Yum, yum, yum.

day by day emily

My breakfast partner’s breakfast was simply all right. The eggs had very minimal flavor and required lots of salt and pepper. The hash browns were rather mushy and the toast was toast. Overall, the basic meal was mediocre. The combo did come with a free juice, though, which was a plus.

Though my meal was absolutely fantastic and the pricing was great, the wait time for our food and the menu’s lack of variety made this venue overall just mediocre. But, friends, if you’re an oatmeal snob like I am, you better add Day by Day to your breakfast list.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 7
Food Quality: 8
Quality of Service: 8
Cost: 9
Menu Variety: 7
Overall Satisfaction: 8
Parking: Street parking
Average Score: 7.8

outside day by day

Have you been to Day By Day Cafe? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Day By Day Cafe for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Day By Day Cafe
477 West 7th Street
St. Paul, MN 55102

Leave a Reply

