The Neighborhood Cafe

It’s the end of the holiday season. And I’m feeling indulgent. I’d been waiting and waiting for a time when I’d allow myself to branch out on the breakfast track and indulge in tasty waffles or pancakes smothered in syrup. So, as we searched for a breakfast venue for this morning, one of the requirements was that there were many unique and delicious pancake choices. So, on this lovely Saturday morning, we headed to The Neighborhood Cafe.

Just like that, we were off to St. Paul. We arrived at the hometown venue, walked into the small restaurant and were seated by a tall, smiling waiter whom I named the Gentle Giant. We slid into a large, comfortable booth and took a look at the menu that we’d already carefully scoured. The Neighborhood Cafe’s menu is quite thorough and full of variety.This is a huge “build your own” kind of menu. If you order pancakes, you have seven options for add-ins (blueberries, strawberries, bananas, bacon,chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, or pecans, for $1 each) and if you order a breakfast sandwich or omelette, you have six meat options, five cheese options, and ten veggie options. They also have nearly a dozen house specialties and an entire “healthy options” section. Amazing.

neighborhood cafeBut, the moment you’ve all been waiting for…my non-oatmeal order! We each got a short stack of buttermilk pancakes ($4.95) and my breakfast partner added bacon and chocolate chips to her cakes ($1 each) while I added bananas and chocolate chips. I sat in anticipation, sipping a fantastic cup of freshly brewed Dunn Brothers coffee while I excitedly awaited my fresh pancakes.

Our breakfasts arrived quickly and the steaming cakes looked simply decedent. I loved that they looked like real pancakes – not the overly perfect looking fluff that you get at the local iHop. I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into these cakes that I’d been waiting so long to enjoy. And my, were they worth the wait. They were nice and thick, yet light and airy. The chocolate chips and banana were baked right into the pancake, making each and every bite burst with a chocolate-banana combo that was to die for. My breakfast partner’s bacon-chocolate chip combo lent a similar experience, and she raved about her meal just as I did. The cakes didn’t ever get soggily soft or overwhelmingly sweet, making the final bite just as delicious as the first.

No matter what I would have ordered at The Neighborhood Cafe, I’m sure I would have loved it. We had a lovely, patient waiter, enjoyed delicious coffee, and felt comfortable in the small, homey venue. As we headed off to do some post-Christmas shopping on Grand Avenue (including a stop at Cupcake – yum), we were completely satisfied, happy, and excited to visit The Neighborhood Cafe again.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 10
Food Quality: 8
Quality of Service: 9
Cost: 9
Menu Variety: 10
Overall Satisfaction: 9
Parking: Street parking
Average Score: 9.2

neighborhood cafe outside

Have you been to Neighborhood Cafe? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Neighborhood Cafe for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
1570 Selby Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55104

Leave a Reply

