Fat Nat’s Eggs

Last night I was in a panic. I had yet to decide where I was going to go to breakfast. And it was less than 12 hours away. (Guys, I don’t know if you realize this, but I tend to decide where I’m going to breakfast next weekend while I’m at breakfast this weekend. I think I get excited while I’m eating and think, I CAN’T WAIT TO DO THIS AGAIN LET’S PLAN NEXT TIME RIGHT NOW.) My friend helped me narrow my search by admitting she really needed some eggs benedict. So I thought, well, we should go to a place that has “egg” in the title, just to be sure they’re really focused on eggs. Thus, the Fat Nat’s Eggs experience was born.

We quickly zoomed over to the St. Anthony Village location, which had just recently opened (they also have locations in Brooklyn Park and New Hope). After absolutely no wait, an extremely cheery waitress showed us to a table right in the middle of the medium-sized restaurant. I was immediately served some mediocre coffee, but it almost tasted better because my waitress was so zesty, excited, and accommodating. We took a few minutes to explore the menu. The menu was quite extensive in the egg department (eggs benedicts, omelettes, breakfast combos), and a few other french toast, pancake, and waffle options. Though the menu was quite large, the variety wasn’t as extensive as other venues we’d visited.

Fat Nat's Eggs

My friend decided on the classic eggs benedict ($8.95) which came with American fries, but she substituted hash browns as a side. I settled on Oatmeal and Raisins ($5.95), which came with toast and brown sugar. Both of our breakfasts were incredibly reasonably priced, particularly my friend’s eggs benedict, which tends to be $10+ at most other venues. I was served my raisins and brown sugar in small plastic containers before getting my main meal, so I snacked on raisins while waiting for my breakfast. Our plates came quickly and we were ready for them.

My oatmeal was just average oatmeal, the kind of oatmeal I might expect from a place specializing in eggs. It was a stiff bowl, and the traditional additions of raisins and brown sugar didn’t add much. I like oatmeal, so I enjoyed it, but it felt like something I could have just whipped up at home. My breakfast partner’s eggs benedict was pretty good, tasting very homestyle. The hash browns were nice and crispy and the toast was okay, too. Overall, our breakfasts felt and tasted pretty classic, leaving us satisfied but not impressed.

fat nats eggs

I loved this location, the awesome staff, and the lack of wait time throughout the whole experience, but the food didn’t wow me. However, you’re a big egg fan, heading to Fat Nat’s to try out one of their unique eggs benedicts (bacon avocado, green chile, Italian) might be worth your while.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 7
Food Quality: 6
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 9
Menu Variety: 7
Overall Satisfaction: 8
Parking: Street parking
Average Score: 7.8

fat nats outside

Have you been to Fat Nat’s Eggs? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Fat Nat’s Eggs for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Fat Nat’s Eggs
2700 39th Ave. NE
St. Anthony Village, MN 55421

Photo Credit

 
Leave a Reply

