Cupcake Minneapolis

Years ago, I discovered the gloriously fantastic cupcakes available at Cupcake Minneapolis. And I then proceeded to purchase specialty cupcakes (my favorites are mocha and caramel cubed) from there for every single birthday, anniversary, and holiday that I encountered. Though I’d experienced their cupcakes (oh, and macaroons, oh the macaroons) thoroughly and completely, I’d never hit Cupcake for breakfast. I’d already fallen in love with their Minneapolis location and decided that today was the day to indulge in a full, non-cupcake breakfast there.

My friend and I braved the heavy snow on this Sunday morning and headed to University Ave. We entered the small venue, pulling on the whisk door handles to enter, immediately reminding me of my love for this place. It was early on a snowy Sunday, so we had the place to ourselves. We took a gander at their menu, which is relatively small, but offers a pretty good variety, considering they’re first and foremost a cupcake shop. I exchanged some witty batter with one of the friendliest cashiers I’d ever encountered and ordered a cup of oatmeal ($3) and a vanilla latte. My breakfast partner decided on the Simple Breakfast ($5.50), which consisted of two eggs, toast, and your choice of bacon, ham, steak, or roasted veggies.

cupcake minneapolisWe paid an extremely reasonable amount (okay, cheap) and perused some Cupcake merchandise, making plans to buy Cupcake onesies for our future children. We sat down at a small table in the back, right across from the kitchen, which had one glass wall to make for easy viewing of the baking process. Mesmerized, we watched experienced bakers crank out and decorate dozens of cupcakes – so fun! I had just as much fun as I had in my childhood when I used to stand with face and hands pressed up against the glass to watch the glazed donuts bake at the local Krispy Kreme after church. Except this experience was even better because I’m an adult who can appreciate how difficult it is to make a cupcake taste that great and look that beautiful. It was also better because I was sipping a fantastic vanilla latte.

Our food came in a flash, tearing our stares away from the now annoyed bakery crew we had been stalking. After watching dozens of cupcakes being baked and decorated to perfection, I was more in the mood for a cupcake, but oatmeal would have to do. Now, I must admit, I walked into this Cupcake oatmeal experience with rather low expectations. It’s a cupcake shop, how good can their extraneous breakfast items really be? Well, folks, I was pleasantly surprised with a bowl of delicious, naturally sweet oats. They came with the additions of raisins, pecans, and brown sugar, but needed no milk for extra creaminess or brown sugar for extra sweetness because I thoroughly enjoyed them just on their own. Well done, friends.

CupcakeMy breakfast companion’s breakfast was also (surprisingly) really good. It was a basic breakfast of eggs, bacon, and toast, but it was a great basic breakfast. She was really excited about the hefty portion of bacon, especially considering the $5 price tag. Her toast was crispy and perfectly toasty and her eggs were cooked to perfection. It was traditional and it was delicious. Plus, our meals came on bright, bold Fiestaware, so they get bonus points for that.

As we finished up our last bites and final sips, I smiled to myself, satisfied and completely content. Cupcake, I already loved you and your cupcakes but now I’m not discriminating: I love you, your cupcakes, and your breakfast. And I love my life more when you’re a part of it.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 9
Food Quality: 8
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 9
Menu Variety: 7
Overall Satisfaction: 8
Parking: Street parking
Average Score: 8.5

cupcake outside

Have you been to Cupcake Minneapolis? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Cupcake Minneapolis for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Cupcake Minneapolis
3338 University Ave
Minneapolis, MN

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

