Butter Bakery Cafe

This morning, bright and early, I was off to Butter Bakery Cafe. Again, this is a venue that I’d experienced before, but wanted the opportunity to experience it officially on The Great Minnesota Breakfast Tour. We pulled into the baby parking lot and parked right next to the no other cars.

We walked into a nearly deserted little cafe, empty except for the exception of a large family dressed heavily in flannel. I liked the quiet demeanor. We took at look at their menu, perusing before ordering from the walk-up bar. Because I’d already had their steel cut oats before, I ventured away from my usual oatmeal. Are you shocked? You should be. I instead selected the house-made granola ($5.00) and added a side of house-made wheat toast ($2.50). My breakfast companion selected the french toast ($6.50), another shock since she’s egg-obsessed.

butter bakery

We grabbed our coffees from the walk up coffee bar and sat down at a corner table. As we waited for our food, we didn’t enjoy our coffee all that much. It was too strong for my friend’s liking and tasted a little burnt to me. I still, however, proceeded to drink a full mug before our food came. (I would have probably drank several more, but their coffee refills require that I go get the attention of a man behind the coffee counter and awkwardly ask for a tenth refill. So, instead of looking like a psycho, I drank slowly. A small annoyance to most, this eliminated my absolute favorite thing about breakfast: getting my coffee automatically refilled by a not myself.) Our food came pretty quickly, as it should have based on the number of other customers there.

We were very hungry, so we dug right in. My yogurt, fruit, and granola was okay. I wasn’t expecting it to be incredible, because, after all, it’s just yogurt and granola, but I was hoping their house-made granola would wow me a little bit. It was also an incredibly small portion. I mean, I’m all for eating in moderation, but I wouldn’t have been anywhere near satisfied without my side of toast. My breakfast companion also wasn’t a fan of her french toast. She described it as mediocre and extremely mushy, which is not a helpful characteristic of something you will be adding maple syrup to. Overall, our food was very reasonably priced, but not the best quality. We finished up quickly, bussed our dishes, and went on our way.

Butter

On our way out, we picked up a couple of yesterday’s scones for just 99 cents each. Insider tip: they have all of yesterday’s pastries on sale the next day, each only 99 cents. And they’re really delicious. We each enjoyed a maple scone later that afternoon – so tasty. This scone indulgence increased my satisfaction with Butter overall, but I still didn’t have the best experience. I’d head back there for a pastry and a latte, but not for full breakfast again.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 6
Food Quality: 6
Quality of Service: 8
Cost: 9
Menu Variety: 6
Overall Satisfaction: 7
Parking: Lots and street parking available
Average Score: 7.0

butter outside

Have you been to Butter Bakery Cafe? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Butter Bakery Cafe for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Butter Bakery Cafe
3700 Nicollet Ave. S
Minneapolis, MN 55409

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

