New Woodbury Cafe

Today was a good day. Today was The New Woodbury Cafe day. I didn’t know much about this venue, except that it shared the logo of Uptown Diner (see more about that below). But I was pumped to experience this venue, for no reason other than I love going out to breakfast. We hopped into the car and shot up the freeway with one goal in mind: breakfast. Hot, steamy, oatmealy, coffeey breakfast.

We arrived at New Woodbury Cafe mid-morning and waited no time at all to be seated. We sat down next to a lonely middle-aged bachelor who was very clearly enjoying his independent Saturday morning. More power to you, sir. Our energetic, yoga pant-wearing waitress popped over to bring us coffee and I enjoyed a few cups while eyeing the menu, which is actually the same menu of Uptown Diner, as this is a chain of sorts. Though I suppose they’d technically fall under the restaurant chain category, and they both offer indulgent Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pancakes and Pineapple Upside Down Pancakes, both of these venues were entirely different and offered a unique experience.

new woodbury cafe oatmealAfter a short thought process, I selected the Old Fashioned Oatmeal ($6.95) while my breakfast companion chose the Country Fried Steak and Eggs ($9.50). We were both thoroughly pleased with our selections, I must say. We hung around for a bit, enjoying the rather quiet atmosphere of the place. The restaurant is spacious, offering a variety of table sizes spread out nicely so you can talk to your dining partner about the great movie you saw this week without being distracted by your close neighbor’s discussion of the uncomfortable colonoscopy she endured yesterday.

Our breakfast plates of tasty goodness arrived after a medium-sized wait and we excitedly began our eating experience. And, man, was that eating experience a great one. My oatmeal, which was served with the traditional plump raisins and sweet brown sugar, was just so freaking yummy. It was thick as porridge and creamy as cream and the accompaniments added the perfect touch of sweetness. But that’s not all. I got honey grain wheat toast as a side. Guys, I know I talk a lot about really delicious toast. Part of the reason all toast is so delicious is because it’s one of the only times during the week that I eat gluten, but this toast was off the charts delicious. It was as thick as Texas toast, topped with oats, infused with a minimal honey sweetness, slightly buttered, and toasted to absolute perfection. Ugh. Yum. Both my friend and I groaned over the taste multiple times throughout the meal.

New Woodbury CafeMy breakfast companion’s meal was equally as delicious. She raved about the toast just as I did, but also commented on the art of New Woodbury Cafe’s perfect hash brown: crispy on the outside, soft but not squishy on the inside. Her steak, smothered in peppered sausage gravy, also really took her taste buds on a tasty whirlwind. Not to mention her deliciously perfect eggs and toast. Did I mention the toast? She also had the toast. And it was great.

I didn’t really want to leave because I thought maybe if I stayed till closing they’d throw some leftover honey grain toast in me instead of the garbage, but, alas, I had places to be. With full bellies and wide grins, we paid our (quite cheap) bill and went on our way, happy that we made today a New Woodbury Cafe day.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 8
Food Quality: 9
Quality of Service: 7
Cost: 8
Menu Variety: 7
Overall Satisfaction: 8
Parking: Lots available
Average Score: 7.8

new woodbury cafe

Have you been to The New Woodbury Cafe? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience New Woodbury Cafe for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
The New Woodbury Cafe
803 Blelenberg Drive
Woodbury, MN 55125

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

