Good Day Cafe

I rose early this morning, feeling unmotivated to get out of bed, let alone drive the half an hour to today’s breakfast venue. But it was Great Minnesota Breakfast Tour day and I’d be damned if I missed out on an opportunity to chug coffee and critique some oatmeal! So I spiffed myself up and headed to Good Day Cafe. This is another venue that I’d ventured to before, but I wanted to make it an official stop on my tour.

We walked into the spacious dining area (a tad early for a Saturday, I will admit) and were seated immediately. I will note here that Good Day does tend to get quite crowded mid-morning. If you want to avoid the crowds, go before 9 a.m. or call ahead to get your name on the waiting list. But since we were there at about 8, we sat down right away and checked out their extensive menu. Seriously, guys, they have a lot of stuff. They’re famous for their Glazed Donut Pancakes and also offer a variety of crepes, french toasts, waffles, omelets, eggs benedicts, bakery items, and traditional egg combos. I’m overwhelmed just thinking about it. Your choices might be a bit pricer, but the vast options are worth it.

good day cafeLuckily for me, I’m picky, so I settled on Steel Cut Oats ($5.95) and a toast basket ($2.50) to share with my friend. She decided on The Classic Eggs’ Benny ($12.75). We chilled for a bit, sipping coffee and drooling at our neighbor’s Glazed Donut Pancakes. I also made a two-year old friend across the dining area and spent a few minutes exchanging flirtatious facials until I was interrupted by the arrival of my toast basket. Man, do I love toast. I don’t eat bread except sometimes when out to breakfast and this particular toast sure made my day a good one. Plain buttered toast is fantastic. We Americans bog down our toast with jams and jellies and, most recently, Nutellas, so much that we forget how tasty plain buttered toast is. Take a bread from reading and come back with some buttered toast. Right now. It will make the rest of your read even more enjoyable (as if that’s possible). Okay, down from my toast soap box.

Good DayBefore we even had the chance to finish up our basket o’ toast, our steaming plates arrived and we dug in. My oats, served with caramelized apples and brown sugar, were just fantastic. Juicily creamy and oaty and delicious. My friend really enjoyed her eggs benedict, which came with Good Day Cafe potatoes (see photo at right). The potatoes were a bit crispy for her liking, but she was overall very satisfied with her culinary experience.

As I leisurely finished up our toast basket and slurped my twentieth cup of coffee, I gazed across the fresh, modern restaurant, enjoying one last view of a great venue and one last flirtatious facial with my two-year old pal. Today’s Good Day breakfast definitely set us up for one good day.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 8
Food Quality: 7
Quality of Service: 6
Cost: 5
Menu Variety: 9
Overall Satisfaction: 8
Parking: Lots available
Average Score: 7.2

good day cafe inside

Have you been to Good Day Cafe? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience Good Day Cafe for yourself?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
Good Day Cafe
5410 Wayzata Boulevard
Golden Valley, MN 55416

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

