The Lowry

The Lowry had always been on my never-ending list of breakfast places to explore. I’d enjoyed lunch there before, but never had I ventured there for my first meal of the day. So, early in The Great Minnesota Breakfast Tour run, we headed to Uptown for a morning meal at The Lowry. I simply wasn’t prepared for the greatness I was about to experience.

We entered the venue in the brutally early morning hours of a Saturday (my breakfast partner had somewhere else to be at 9am). The place was virtually empty and the host greeted us with a warm smile and showed us to a trendy booth where we waited just seconds for our waitress to arrive. She brought me a cup of deliciously brewed coffee to sip (okay, chug) as I searched the menu that I’d already looked at many times.

The menu is thorough and, as many of the places I’ve already explored, rather upscale. They take great care with each and every dish to make it their own. You don’t just get oatmeal, you get oatmeal with half a dozen unique add-ins. You don’t just get waffles, you have the choice of a banana waffle with Belgium chocolate sauce or a peanut butter waffle with melted peanut butter and candied peanuts. Although your options overall are quite pricey, I’d say the price really is worth it. I ended up selecting (surprise, surprise) the Irish oatmeal ($6.75) and my friend chose her now go-to eggs benedict ($11.25).

the lowryWe waited just a few cups of coffee (for me, that’s less than 10 minutes) and our breakfast was served. Take a moment to look at the accompanying photo of my oatmeal. Go ahead, look. Yeah. That’s how many delicious ingredients I got to toss into my oats. But, ironically, the dish needed no additions. The steel-cut Irish oats and cream were thick and moist, with a touch of natural sweetness all on their own. After my first bite, I wanted to shovel the entire cup into my mouth immediately. But, I resisted the urge, reminding myself to let the deliciousness last, and proceeded to plow through my sides of maple-glazed apple relish, bananas, blueberries, raisins, candied walnuts, raisins, and brown sugar. I couldn’t get enough of it. Literally, as I sit here at my kitchen counter simply describing this dish, my mouth is filled with saliva. But really, I just opened my mouth to speak and I drooled. That’s how good The Lowry’s Irish oatmeal is.

LowryMy friend’s meal was nearly as tasty, though I’m not sure anything in the world could be as tasty as my oatmeal. Her poached eggs and ham on an English muffin, smothered in an herby hollandaise sauce was served with hashbrowns. Though it was not at all a classic eggs benedict, it was a different twist on the classic that she’d been experiencing at other venues.

If my to-die-for oatmeal wasn’t good enough, I just loved how I felt at The Lowry. It had a certain elegance to it that I had yet to feel at any other restaurant. We had a lovely waitress who filled my coffee every three seconds and with whom I enjoyed some banter with, their bathroom stalls were tall, heavy, trendy wooden doors, and my food made me feel like I’d died and gone to heaven. It’s the little things, ya know?

I’ll shoot you a little spoiler: my experience at The Lowry was in October and it’s now January. In nearly five months of The Great Minnesota Breakfast Tour, I have not found an oatmeal that tops the decadence of The Lowry’s. I’m trying, but Twin Cities, you’ve got to step it up (except for you, The Lowry, you can just walk in place).

Well done, my friends at The Lowry, well done.

The Ratings
Coffee Quality: 10
Food Quality: 9
Quality of Service: 10
Cost: 5
Menu Variety: 7
Overall Satisfaction: 10
Parking: Large lot available
Average Score: 8.5

the lowry outside

Have you been to The Lowry? Share your experience with me below!
OR…want to experience The Lowry for yourself (yes, yes you do)?
Check out their website or pop their address into your smartphone:
The Lowry
2112 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55405

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

